Capital cities

England: London, 7 615 000 (metro. area), 7 429 200 (city proper)

Scotland: Edinburgh

Wales: Cardiff

Other large cities: Glasgow (1 099 400); Birmingham (971 800); Liverpool (461 900); Edinburgh (460 000); Leeds (417 000); Bristol (406 500); Manchester (390 700); Bradford (288 400)

Area: 209 331 km²

Largest city: London

Population: 60 776 238

Indigenous people: Cornish, English, Scots, Welsh, others

Official language(s):

  • English (throughout)
  • Welsh (Wales)
  • Scots (Scotland)
  • Scottish Gaelic (Scotland)

Official Currency: Pound Sterling

UK is divided into 4 parts: England, Wales, Scotland, North Ireland. England is sometimes, wrongly, used in reference to the whole United Kingdom, the entire island of Great Britain (or simply Britain), or indeed the British Isles. This is not only incorrect but can cause offence to people from other parts of the UK.

parts of the UK.









England Scotland Wales Great Britain

The diverse history of England, Scotland and Wales has led to very different cultural traditions; The Scots and Welsh have right to feel aggrieved whenever the term ’English’ is used wrongly, to mean all three.