The Republic of Slovenia is a parliamentary democratic republic that became an independent state after the disintegration of Yugoslavia in 1991. The present Constitution of the Republic of Slovenia was adopted on 23 December 1991, following the results of a plebiscite on the sovereignty and independence of Slovenia on 23 December 1990, when Slovenians es overwhelmingly voted for independence.

President of the Republic: Danilo Türk (since december 2007))
Prime Minister: Borut Pahor (SD)
Government: Prime Minister, 15 ministers, 2 ministers without portfolio
National Assembly: 90 deputies (88 elected representatives of parliamentary parties, and one representative each from the Italian and Hungarian national communities).
National Council: 40 elected representatives of employers, employees, farmers, tradesmen and the self-employed, as well as from the non-economic sector and local interest groups.

Governing parties: SD, ZARES, LDS, DeSUS

Last national elections 2008

Last national elections 2008

Last European Parliament election June 2009 See: •,_2009_(Slovenia)

National Insignia

Slovenia has three national symbols – the coat of arms, the flag and the anthem. The coat of arms, the flag and the anthem are determined by the Constitution. Their use is determined by the law, which among other things prescribes the flying of the flag on state holidays.

Slovenia joined the European Union on 1 May 2004. The use of the European Union’s flag and anthem in Slovenia is determined by the Decree on the use of the European Union’s flag and anthem in the Republic of Slovenia (Uredba o uporabi zastave in himne Evropske unije v Republiki Sloveniji, Official Gazette of the Republic of Slovenia).

Slovenia strives for the preservation of its national identity and a simultaneous openness to the world. In international relations it advocates peaceful conflict resolution, stronger co-operation and trust and respect for human rights. Slovenia lies at the heart of one of Europe’s ethnic crossroads. The Republic of Slovenia bases its foreign policy on the fundamental principles of the constitutional system of the state and generally applicable principles of international law. It is a member of the European Union, NATO, the United Nations and many other international organisations.

For more information about Slovenia’s membership of international organisations and political cooperation between Slovenia and other countries please check the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. To become an independent state was a daunting task in many respects. After the birthing painsangs of establishing a new state, there was a big challenge ahead was still to be accomplished: Slovenia needed to gain acquire international recognition and establish itself as a player on the world stage. One of the first important goals of Slovenian foreign policy was to join certain crucial international organisations and alliances, such as the United Nations, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), the European Union, NATO, and many other international arrangements. Slovenia not only quickly became a member of such international groupings, but has already presided over several of them.

An important aspect of a successful state is its relationship with its neighbouring countries. Slovenia maintains open and friendly relations with Austria, Italy, Hungary and Croatia. Slovenia co-operates with its neighbours via quadripartite projects and initiatives; it also works alongside other Central European states within the Central European Initiative (CEI) and Regional Partnership and contributes to the stabilisation of South Eastern Europe within the Stability Pact.

Slovenia pays special attention to the position of the Hungarian and Italian minorities in Slovenia as well as to the Slovenian minorities living in the neighbouring countries. The Slovenian Constitution, adopted in 1992, guarantees special rights to members of the Italian and Hungarian minorities living in Slovenia.

Today Slovenian minorities live in most of the neighbouring countries: Italy, Austria and Hungary. The rights of the Slovenian ethnic minority in Austria are set forth in the Federal Contract on the Restructuring of an Independent and Democratic Austria. The rights of the Slovenian minority in Italy and of Italians in Slovenia are set forth in a Special Status, included in the London Memorandum of Agreement (accepted in 1954), as well as in the Osimo Agreements (signed in 1974). /More information in the background information can be found here: 25th Anniversary of the Osimo Agreements, November 2000.

The question issue of the Slovenian ethnic minority in Hungary and of Hungarians in Slovenia is dealt addressed with in the 1992 accredited agreement on ensuring the special rights of the Slovenian ethnic minority and of the Hungarian ethnic population in Slovenia.

Slovenia’s Mmembership inof Iinternational Oorganisations and Rregional Iinitiatives:
United Nations (UN), 1992
Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), 1992
Central European Initiative (CEI), 1992
World Health Organisation (WHO), 1992
International Labour Organisation (ILO), 1992
United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), 1992
Council of Europe (CE), 1993
International Monetary Fund (IMF), 1993
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), 1993
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), 1993
World Trade Organisation (WTO), 1995
Central European Free Trade Association (CEFTA), 1996
Quadrilateral Initiative, 1996
Southeast European Cooperative Initiative (SECI), 1997
Human Security Network, 1998
Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe, 1999
Adriatic-Ionian Initiative (AII), 2000
Regional Partnership, 2001
North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO), 2004
European Union (EU), 2004