Official name: Republic of Hungary

Location: East-Central Europe (borders with Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, and Slovenia)

Area: 93,030 square km

Population: 10,300,000 (21 percent under 14 and 60 percent between 15-59)

Density of population: 110 per sq. kilometer

Form of government: Republic

Capital city: Budapest

Spoken languages: Hungarian (a very special language, originating from the Finno-Ugric group of languages)

Currency: Hungarian Forint

Suffrage: 18 years of age (universal)

Chief of state: Laszlo SOLYOM (since 5 August 2005), Head of Government: Gordon Bajnai - Prime Minister

Member of: NATO and EU