Cyprus is divided into six districts, whose capitals share the same name:

  • Famagusta
  • Kyrenia
  • Larnaca
  • Limassol
  • Nicosia
  • Paphos

The districts are divides into municipalities.

Cyprus 04


As a result of the division of the island I have already mentioned, the official administrative division into 6 districts is merely formal: the Greek area includes the districts of Limassol, Paphos and all but small parts of Nicosia and Larnaca; the Turkish area includes Kyrenia and most of Famagusta.

Cyprus is an independent sovereign republic with a presidential system of government. The structure of Government is similar to other western democracies where human rights, political pluralism and private property are safeguarded. Cyprus has a multi-party system, with three or four strong parties who generally dominate the political landscape.

The head of state is the President of the Republic (Mr. Demetris Christofias from Progressive Party of Working People) who is elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term of office.

Last national elections: 2006

Last national elections: 2006

Last European Parliament election June 2009


The Council of Ministers, which is appointed by the President, is the executive organ of the Republic. Legislative power lies with the House of Representatives whose members hold office for a period of five years

Main political parties

  • Movement for Social Democracy United Democratic Union of Centre
  • Progressive Party of Working People
  • Democratic Party
  • European Party
  • United Democrats
  • Ecological and Environmental Movement

Cyprus is a divided island. Since 1974, the legal government (The Republic of Cyprus) has controlled the south two thirds, and the separatist Turkish Cypriot authorities the northern one-third. The Government of the Republic of Cyprus has continued as the sole internationally-recognized authority on the island, though in practice its power extends only to the government controlled area.

Cyprus is a member of the United Nations, and its specialized agencies, the Council of Europe and the Commonwealth. 1st May 2004 Cyprus joined the European Union together with other ten countries. Cyprus is represented through full diplomatic missions in 29 countries, 9 major international organizations and several consulates general around the world.